Coffee and a 97th birthday

Enjoyed today's blue sky, Lakeland fells from Morecambe bay

A post shared by The Cook (@edinburghcook) on

Hello and what can I get you, we meet for coffee at the service station. We are out and about this weekend, one of those weekends where events collide. My grandads birthday and the UK’s Mothering Sunday with really no excuse to go see both.
Time to get the wheels out and stretch the vans legs. It does feel like the first journey of the year, a cob web in the window confirms my suspicion that it needs a sweep out before the first camping trip. Today though not so important, just me and my youngest. His face is beaming, he gets to sit up front without the usual tussle with his brother and he’s chosen the playlist on Spotify. Two hours of nonsense pop, what have I let myself in for?

The drive is one of those unique blue sky days, a transition from winter to spring. The green in the grass changing tone with daffodil bulbs aplenty along the embankments. We spotted the odd baby lamb barely able to stand.

170 miles later, we were early so I decided to take us to Morecambe, a nearby seaside town where I spent many a day trip as a child. All the store fronts had changed, some boarded up, the pier gone, the fair no longer there. A sad shell of a place from my memories. There’s been some investment though in the car parks and the sea front promenades.

I’d brought the skateboard and my son was happy enough with the miles of flat surface that laid before him, no burden of the memories of the long distant past.

What I hadn’t realised as a child was the view of the Lake District that you get from Morecambe. The snow on the tops adding that extra bit of definition to a landscape that is already known for it’s wonder.

Great Grandad as we call him, was in great fettle for a 97 year old….again a strange day for me. Memories of a man so strong and proud to someone who struggles to see and needs help to walk. This was the man who played cricket with me, chased me up the fells and raced me at eating scotch pancakes. Amazingly happy with life, a real lesson on how to be content with his lot. His goal to make it to 100!

Thank you to everyone who popped by last week and wished me well with my cold. I’m on the mend and looking forward to a week without a headache and a box of tissues by my side! Hope you have a great week and that the weather is bringing you happiness as well.

Thanks for joining me for coffee, thanks to Nerd in the Brain who hosts the Weekend Coffee Share.

7 thoughts on “Coffee and a 97th birthday

  1. IT is so nice when we can spend one-on-one time with one of our children at a time, isn’t it? When you mentioned music on a two-hour drive, you brought me back to 1983, ahem, when the three girls, 19, 16 and 13 piled into an Econoline Hightop with 4 captain seats and a sofa in the back with Mom and Dad and drove across Canada. We each could choose music for one-hour increments… oy.. I’m sure my father regretted that agreement!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

