New Knife, New Me and the Coffee Share

2017-01-07-12-41-57

It’s with some trepidation we meet for coffee, it’s been such a while.  I’ve missed you and I know I should have been in touch sooner.  So many things got in the way.  Presented with a blank page and Auld Lang Syne ringing in my ears (Should old acquaintance be forgot, and never brought to mind?).  I’ve sat down at the PC with the sole intention of thinking about my blog.

Amazingly meeting for coffee is opening the words in my head.  I’ve been procrastinating around for ages. Staring at a blank screen with so many things to say, my head brimming with ideas but choked at the thought of there materialisation.

I know at this time of year it’s a great opportunity to close things off for 2016 and I already feel late to the party, the opportunity has passed.  I’ve decided I’m just going to close it down as the year that we finally moved into the house and things started to settle.  Soul searching, turning things over and looking at the past isn’t where my heads at after the Christmas break.  There just didn’t seem time for all the things I needed and wanted to do by the turn of the year, it all collided with guests, the odd bit of work and I’ve now got a sinking feeling that the year has started without me!

Drinking our coffee we’d get round to talking about Christmas presents.  You would tell me about your main gift and I’d tell you about mine…..a new knife.  Not just any knife, this was a knife I’d been coveting for a while.  Not just as an implement to prepare food but as an item of beauty not quite forged in the breath of a dragon but as the Excalibur to both mark the turning point of my cookery and something to cut through the invisible ties that have been holding me back mentally on so many fronts.  To cut through my procrastination.

It might sound daft, but every time I get a hold of my new knife (I’m going to have to find it a cool name)  like a scene from a fantasy movie it’s going to jolt me with a burst of energy, drag me through 2017 kicking and screaming with a new wave of positivity to get things back on my terms.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster

6 thoughts on “New Knife, New Me and the Coffee Share

  1. dont play with knives didnt some wise man say that…well he should have does it have a cool name yet the knife or you have to wait until a sacrificial slaughter ok i just freaked myself out goodnight an thanks for the coffee…
    ~B

    PS in hindsight coffee before bed was probably a bed idea, listening to the sounds outside wishing I had a sharp knife beneath my pillow, you know in case a someone breaks in and offers me a slice of cake and we need a knife to cut it with……

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

