Coffee #7, EU, Rome and Dads Football

 

Coffee this morning is served before breakfast today breaking my normal ritual of a cup of tea first thing.  I like my cup of joe mid morning and today feels like a requirement for a double bagger, perhaps we’ll catch up later.

Today we’d talk about the EU referendum, I find myself reflecting, searching for another answer but all the news can offer up is discontent in politics, and talk of leavers regretting their protest vote.  I know there must be people who are happy with the result, but here in Edinburgh there is a feeling of dismay.   A city that celebrates being continental in every way.  I sigh and we move on it’s a topic that is going to distract and dominate for some time and my disappointment is that all the money that goes into (in my opinion) a crazy separation that destroys unity is not being spent on the things that need fixing.

Lack of a real central base in the house is dragging on and frustrating.  I know we are close to the end with discussions taking place around the plasterer coming in.  The shell has started to form to which the kitchen furniture will be attached and hope starts to kick in with dreams of all culinary events being solved.

The dreams are aided by Rachel Roddy’s book Five Quarters, which I’m dipping into every night, working through it from start to finish.  As you’d expect with a cookery book it’s broken into the usual sections however to my delight it’s more than a bunch of recipes, it very much follows the style of her column in the Guardian.  I find myself transported to Rome,  and a real glimpse of someone who is on a journey of discovery with food.  It makes we want to do better, to write more from the heart and to savour moments.  I skip the how to cook an Octopus section and how to fillet Anchovies, it’s just something I won’t do and somehow they feel out of place in the book, more a novelty at the same time it’s the authors experience, a moment shared.   At the heart of the book is a real get back to understanding you ingredients ethos and I can’t wait to get going on making my own tomato sauce, or to try the minestre.

My exercise this week has been hampered by a stinking cold that appeared out of nowhere.  Gradually it eased off and I was able to make my sons day by taking part in the end of term coaches + dads versus the boys football match.  A game worthy of an entry on match of the day.  15 young no energy restraints scamps versus 7 middle aged wannabes.  Thankfully the 15 didn’t have the ability to organise themselves and chaos ensued after their first goal.  The dads picked themselves up, took a breath and started to pass with the score finishing up 5-2 to the dads.  The muscles feel a little bit achy today I have to say!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky

Leave a Reply

