If We Were Having Coffee – 21 May 2016

#coffee and #cake

A post shared by The Cook (@edinburghcook) on

If we were having coffee this weekend we’d talk about how the week had just flown by and I’d be struggling to to tell you why.

We’d be meeting in Stockbridge, the north of Edinburgh just beside the Newtown, a little adventure trying a new coffee shop.  We’d choose by looking through the window and trying to maximise on the scone.   Today you picked well, a lemon and poppy seed scone.  I went for a moist coconut and blueberry number that really hit the spot.  The coffee was nice, a full on artisan roast.  My only issue was that there wasn’t enough of it and the balance between finishing the cake and coffee was difficult.   I’m a man who likes to have their coffee 2/3rds of the way through eating and then having time to savour the coffee for a little longer.   A coffee this size doesn’t allow for such pleasures.

The kitchen work continues at home with the external wall now open to the elements with some serious Scottish stone being cut through and removed.  My hopes of keeping you posted on life with 2 rings via blog recipes hasn’t come to fruition with work taking up any pc time at home.  I’m pleased I’ve managed to meet you coffee for the 3rd week in a row and enjoy being able to ramble like this.

I’d tell you about the Grange street fair last weekend after we met,  that my boys dragged me to.  I came across a book stall selling 5 books for a £1 which I just couldn’t argue with, a nice book on cooking with beer, a coach yourself book and a few novels.

This week sees the start of the global corporate challenge, a team event through work encouraging those who take part to try 10,000 steps a day.  I’m pretty good on average steps wise, however I’m pretty good at eating cake as well.  So for a few weeks at least I’m going to try and start anew, perhaps start my mid-year resolutions.  Armed with my coach myself book.  What can go wrong!

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  

5 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 21 May 2016

Leave a Reply

