If We Were Having Coffee – 14 May 2016

2016-05-12 18.12.31

If we were having coffee we would discuss how dry it’s been but cold. I’d tell you how exciting it’s been coming home each night to see the progress on the kitchen.  I’d get my phone out and show you the pictures and you’d nod your head in agreement that it looks great.

Deep down you’d be thinking that looks like a crazy building site and why would you put yourself through the dust and the mayhem.   I’d be trying to point out the features, the nooks and crannies.  We’d talk about what’s still to be done and then we’d discuss how we are managing without a kitchen.

I’d explain we’ve been cooking in the loft.  A left over falling to bits student kitchen which despite its ramshackle appearance it’s like a little home from home.  The boys start their breakfast without us with the radio re-tuned to Radio1.  On appearing I immediately do the dad thing and change the station to my choice of Radio2.  It’s not like I’m torturing them with a high brow radio 4!  To which I get the moans and a few awwghh Dads, but it settles down with the usual chomp of rice crispies.

I’d talk to you about my spotify tracks…..My retro album of choice this week has been Disco by the pet shop boys, an album that takes me back to my Walkman sat in the back of the car drowning  out whatever was going on in the world at the time.

The new song discovery is this years British entry for the euro vision taking place in Stockholm this evening…You’re Not Alone by Joe and Jake .  A great poppy tune gets everyone into that summer vibe whilst we are camping in the loft.  The remix has been added to the scribble playlist that’s under construction.

I’ve had coffee with a couple of other folk over the week, and enjoyed hearing about having a proper blog plan Literati-Girl   And enjoyed Millysguidetohappiness.  Then I stopped by Trents World

I’ve got various cooking ambitions despite being hampered without an oven, it’s like my right arm has been chopped off, but I think it’s more that a fall back has gone and since I’ve been looking for recipes that are quick simple and easy the oven seems to feature a lot.  I hope to share in due course.

Until next weekend, thanks for popping by.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linkup Linky“.  

4 thoughts on “If We Were Having Coffee – 14 May 2016

Leave a Reply

