Rhubarb Gin

Which #edinburghgin to choose

A post shared by The Cook (@edinburghcook) on

I’m not sure what’s happened over the last couple of days, I’m feeling a little more upbeat. Perhaps it’s the fact that it was actually light when I cycled into work. Or a day of zero meetings and a feeling of freedom as I ticked off a few tasks for me. Still driven by email, at the same time an element of feeling slightly in control.

Even managed a lunch break trip, dictated by a very kind benefactor who’d recently given me a £20 gift voucher to spend at Harvey Nicks. I joked with my colleague that the face recognition system would alert security to a new face and no doubt I’d be followed until my affordability credentials were ascertained.   I can certainly vouch for it representing a different world as I passed the glasses of champers with the ladies lined up in order to have their nails done. I knew on the 4th floor they had something that represented a food hall and I was looking for a tipple to suit my pocket.

I’ve had my eye on the Edinburgh Gin bottles for a while now and never really gotten around to putting one in my basket.   I just love the colour of the Raspberry, however the boss has a certain penchant for Rhubarb.  Not that we’ve tried it in Gin before.  So I was up for taking a chance, a gift, an opportunity to find a gem by trying something new.

We weren’t disappointed.  The gin has a lovely undercurrent of the juices left behind from baked Rhubard.  Very aromatic and a subtle flavour that’s very moreish.

I now have 50p left on the gift card….eating away at me!  What to try next….

Leave a Reply

