Switch from PC to Mac the Purchase!

I didn’t sleep very well last night. One of those things that happen for me every 5 years or so was about to happen, A new computer purchase. It dawned on me at the turn of the year when I was looking out a receipt for something that it had been a long time since my central PC had been upgraded, there’d been the odd the hard drive, a new power unit and a windows 7 install along the way. A net book had been slipped in for travel use and inadvertently left to collect dust when the iPad 2 came along.

I’m pretty good at understanding the ebbs and flows of new technology….either that or I’m slow to catch on. The IPad 1 didn’t entice me…I wanted to see how it caught on, along with the flash debate. Then there is my iPhone, I still have a 3GS with the version 3 skipping me by (was there a 1-2?). So yesterday….I don’t know what possessed me, perhaps the subliminal messages in The Steve Jobs book I’d just finished! I got up and thought that’s it….no more procrastination it’s time for something new, I don’t have the patience to wait out for a new iMac (I would be so upset to pay out that money to see it replaced by a shinier bullet proof screen)…let’s try the mac mini. See if it fits my computing life style which has gone more consumer centric as I’ve got older……..but I long for some coding and new learning.

So after the long wait….I went into the store yesterday discussed my fears of moving to the MAC from the PC, would the monitor plug in. What’s the story with no DVD player? Can you upgrade the memory? Etc etc. Then the killer question…do you have it in stock! To my dismay no….do you know how long I’ve been waiting…..5 years for this……I was just about to start crying when he told me that I could order on-line and they would have it in the next day even for a Sunday. Great I thought a little more thinking time….to double check I’m doing the right thing…..more excitement around the agonising.

So Sunday morning……I’m sat in the room we dump all the office related stuff in the house. It’s also has the window I use to start the seeds off. I’m thinking about how do I bring this new baby into the house. I can hear the fan of the PC above the noise of the boys and I’m wondering will that become a silent whisper…or silence. I’m thinking how to detox the desk, when am I going to get time to detox the desk…..I’ll want to plug it in and drool.

I’m away to check my phone for any text’s from the store and to find a duster!

Leave a Reply

